Amazing Finland Experience - Reisverslag uit Turku, Finland van Michelle Keizer - WaarBenJij.nu Amazing Finland Experience - Reisverslag uit Turku, Finland van Michelle Keizer - WaarBenJij.nu

Amazing Finland Experience

Door: Michelle Keizer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Michelle

05 April 2014 | Finland, Turku

The past three months I spent here in Turku Finland. Time goes so incredibly fast! It feels like just a couple of weeks ago that I walked into Retrodorm with my two suitcases and Anne-Sophie and Gabriele helped me with getting my suitcases upstairs.

After my arrival, more people started to arrive, like Csilla, a girl from Hungary and Nayeon, a girl from Korea. Our Retrodorm family grew bigger, and we did a lot of fun stuff together, like: playing cards, bowling, pooling, going out for dinner, the Tampere trip and of course partying. 

The first colleges were in which Joonas, Marjo and ESN explained a lot about living here in Finland. I was so excited for these colleges and then the first week at TUAS started, where I met Jarno and Lena. Lena made us a welcome package with typically Finnish things in there.

The clinical placements were amazing! We went to a lot of different hospitals and departments and I saw a lot! For me the most interesting thing was to see all the differences between Finland and The Netherlands, and of course I asked a lot of questions about it and got all the answers. I heard a lot about Finnish people, that they are so quiet and don’t show a lot of emotions, but I experienced something different. I had great colleagues in the hospitals.

Then the famous Lapland trip came closer. I enrolled and got in! I think Finland is beautiful, but Lapland was AWESOME! I went skiing, did the husky and snowmobile safari and went partying a lot.

Also I enrolled into the Finnish language course, which I had every Wednesday evening. At first I thought the Finnish language course was quite difficult, because the teacher started with the grammar, but I really liked following this course and I also learned a bit of Finnish in the hospital. The last weeks of clinical placement it was really nice to notice that sometimes I knew where they were talking about, although Finnish is a really difficult language.

The course Get Finternational! Was to learn more about the Finnish culture and Finnish people. I really liked attending the activities and earn stamps for it. Like for example the International Dinner, or Finnish Movie night. I think ESN which organises these kinds of events (also the Lapland trip) does a great job and it really enriched my Finland experience.

But the time flew by so fast and people were leaving. I had a really hard time when my best friends Anne-Sophie, Daniel and Gabriele were leaving, and within a week I am leaving as well and I know it’s hard to leave the people I love behind, but I know one day I will meet them again!

I had an amazing time here in Finland, I met incredible people and they will always stay in my heart and memories!

Thank you very much for making this experience possible!

Michelle

  • 12 April 2014 - 11:11

    Tia Jo:

    Hallo lieve Michelle,
    wanneer je mijn reactie leest ben je misschien alweer ´op honk´en heb je een vermoeiende, maar verder prima reis achter de rug.
    Heb je afscheid genomen van alles en iedereen, alle plekjes waar je een herinnering aan hebt, opgeslagen in je geheugen en met een wat heimwee-achtig gevoel in je maag bent vertrokken.
    Je hebt een indrukwekkend deel in je leven afgesloten en bent daardoor een (geestelijk) rijker mens geworden, bofkont die je bent.
    Dan je thuiskomst: WELKOM THUIS!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Ik denk dat de hele buurt gele linten om de bomen heeft gebonden, de fanfare je op staat te wachten en de taart inmiddels door Bandit opgegeten is.
    Maar toch wil, moet, ik ook nog even reageren op je verslag hoor.
    Wat een prachtig verhaal heb je deze keer weer geproduceerd en in schitterend Engels!
    Kind, kind, wat ben ik toch wie-waa-waanzinnig trots op je!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Je vehaal van deze keer is werkelijk heel bijzonder, met name voor alle mensen die door je benoemd worden, met allemaal een eigen verhaaltje of opmerking erbij!
    Heel attent en in mijn ogen ben je een wijs mens EN diplomaat geworden!!!!!!! Zoals al eerder gezegd: we zijn zo blij met je en bere-trots op je!
    Goed, verder heb ik niet zoveel te melden. Ik hoop dat wanneer je uit/bij-geslapen bent en zin en tijd hebt, je even kan laten weten hoe alles verder is verlopen, want daar zijn we natuurlijk met z´n allen stiknieuwsgierig naar!
    Voor nu: wees voorzichtig, pas goed op jezelf en een heul dikke knuffel van ons, nou daaaaaaaaaaaaggggggggggg XXX!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Michelle

Actief sinds 01 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 422
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13065

Voorgaande reizen:

03 Januari 2014 - 12 April 2014

Finland

Landen bezocht: